Underrated Vintage Game of the Week: TMNT Tournament Fighters

ImageReleased between 1993 and 1994 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Tournament Fighters was, I believe, one of the better fighting games ever released for the SNES system. I spent hundreds of hours over the course of that year fighting between the 12 playable characters. The battles between my Michaelangelo and the Rat King and Karai were as epic as any I had playing the  Street Fighter series.

I always appreciated the authenticity the game presented with the Turtles and their individual personalities and fighting styles. The story mode was challenging enough to keep the game interesting and relevant long after I purchased it – I only wished the roster of playable fighters was expanded. Playing as Splinter or Casey Jones would have been icing on the cake! That being said this was a no-brainer as my initial choice for the “Underrated Vintage Game of the Week” post.

Cowabunga!

Leave a Reply

