Some thoughts on smartwatches (including Samsung GalaxyGear)

Gigaom

I have been pretty vocal about the new smartwatches, including Samsung’s Galaxy Gear watch. In a conversation with Emily Chang on Bloomberg TV, I said that while Samsung has to be commended for taking a step forward, I am not going to be wearing one of the new watches, unless as an experiment for a limited period of time. I don’t really have a quibble with the watch concept, it’s just that I don’t think the devices that are available today are worth my time (no pun intended) or the money.

Smartwatches indeed have a role to play in the future. They are key component of our notification-driven personal computing fabric — one that will use the phone as the hub for all sorts of highly personal devices (also called wearables), as I explained in a conversation with NPR MarketPlace. However, in a conversation with ABlogToWatch

View original post 288 more words

Leave a Reply

